is a fully independent, unofficial website providing rugby and travel information for supporters of international rugby. The site has no connection or affiliation, implied or otherwise, with Rugby World Cup Ltd, Rugby New Zealand 2011 Limited, the New Zealand Rugby Union, the All Blacks, or the International Rugby Board or any other official Rugby or Rugby World Cup organisation. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only.

The Tri Nations was renamed to the Rugby Championship in 2011. It is an annual international rugby union series held between Australia's Wallabies, New Zealand's All Blacks, South Africa's Springboks and the Argentinian Pumas.

The Rugby Championship competition is organized by SANZAR, a consortium formed by the rugby governing bodies of Australia's ARU, New Zealand's NZRFU and South Africa's SARFU.

Previously called the Tri Nations (without Argentina), the first tournament was contested in 1996 and was won by the All Blacks. Since the inception of the Tri Nations series the games played between Australia and New Zealand also determine the winner of the Bledisloe Cup each year. New Zealand

The Rugby Championship tournament opens after the completion of the Super Rugby competition for the year because players from the SANZAR countries are involved in both.

The winner of the Tri Nations is determined by a points system:

  • 4 points for a win
  • 2 points for a draw
  • 0 points for a loss
Bonus points" may also be earned in any given match and count toward deciding the series winner. A team may earn one bonus point in each of the following ways (to a total of two points):
  • By scoring 3 more tries than the opponent.
  • By losing by seven points (a converted try) or fewer.

A victorious team can collect either 4 or 5 points, depending on whether or not it scored 4 tries.

A losing team may collect from 0 to 2 points. At the end of the series the team with the most points is declared the winner. If teams end level on points the first tiebreaker is point differential, followed by number of tries during the series. However, the Championship has yet to finish in a tie for the top spot.

New Zealand has won every year since 2012, except for Australia in 2015. New Zealand has won 14 times between 1996 and 2016.

For travel information about New Zealand go to the New Zealand Travel pages.

Start supporting your favourite Tri Nations team by purchasing their rugby gear here!!!



Featured Ads

Copyright 2008-2017 Net Action Ltd
Hahei, RD1 Whitianga, New Zealand